Skip to content
February 18, 2011 / Nicky

A Day in the Life of….

                                 When I saw the Bonnaroo line-up, I almost cried. It’s that fantastic. I REALLY WANT TO GO. The chances of that are zilch. There’s no way my parents will let me go to Manchester, Tennessee. I’ve never even been to a concert before…..It’s kinda sad. This week Mother Nature decided to be kind, and the weather felt great. But, inside the school we were all burning up. So by the end of the day I was gross and sweaty. When I would get home I would have that feeling of dried sweat. It always reminds me of summer. I know I should feel gross and  rush home and immediately shower….but it makes me super nostalgic.

                I ran into the house. The screen door shutting behind me. The sun was going down, taking the summer heat with it. My cheeks were pink, and my ponytail stuck to the back of my neck. The day had been spent outside with my younger siblings. We sounded like a heard of animals walking into the house. The cool air of the house hit me. It felt really good on my face. I walked through the kitchen, a chorus  flip flops smacking against the floor. My stomach rumbled.

                 ” Mami? Papi? What are we going to eat?” I asked.

                “How about Captian D’s?” My dad replied.

                 ” YES!” we all replied.

                   ” Go wash your hands then,” my mom said.

  After that was all said and done, we drove to Captain D’s. We drove with the windows down. Letting in the sultry summer wind ruffle our hair. When we got there, we ordered our food. I always got the Kid’s shrimp with a strawberry Fanta and a cheescake.

Woa, oh, oh, oh , for the longest time
Woa, oh, oh
For the longest
If you said goodbye to me tonight….”

The same song always played. I felt very content.  Sitting there with my siblings and my parents. I wanted to stay like this forever.

      Just a little bit I remember of how I spent my summers as a little kid. A short sort of memoir maybe?This song always brings back those moments. And that feeling of having spent a hot summer afternoon. Sweating. I’m not sure if it actually makes sense. But it’s a wonderful feeling.

                         For the Longest Time- Billy Joel

    This song also counts as something that makes me happy.

Leave a comment