Skip to content
March 5, 2011 / Nicky

Things are changing

     I most definately understand I was MIA for a while.  Apologies to all. Can you believe it’s already March? Time really flies. March is very special to me for a few reasons.

  • Spring time rolls around. My favorite season.
  • Spring Break of course.
  • My birthday.

    That’s right, I’m definately biased. The weather is perfect this time of year. And the sunsets? I’m a definite sucker for them. Even year round. Pretty cliche, no? But quite beautiful. I don’t own a fancy shmancy camera, so I just use my good ole Sony digital camera.

                   

      And the thing that’s pretty much on my mind right now? My birthday of course! On March the twelfth I shall turn sixteen. I’d be gushing about getting my license, but I haven’t got my permit. Just too lazy to do that…Actually, I’m not even sure what I’ll be doing. Hopefully something with my friends. Shocker I know. I actually have those! I’m excited. I actually remember sitting down when I was in the third grade and thinking, ” It’ll take forever for me to be 16.” I don’t  dig parties. You see, I’m a Guatemalan kid(born in Cali though). So the big thing is turning fifteen. The whole quincianera-coming-of-age-turning-into-a-young-lady shabang? I didn’t do one. My grandma did send me a gold bracelet she got especially made for me..and my parents bought a pastel de tres leches. I’m way too Americanized. Which is funny ’cause I’m full on Guatemalan too.

                                       Please excuse my….face?

Usually I get mistaken for Asian, White, or hispanic/white mixed. Or asian/hispanic. Weird stuff. Honestly, I think I’m startig to ramble. Again, apologies

          I love this song. It sums up a lot of things. Being a teenage girl. Americanized but with obvious hispanic-y-ness(i.e. Sweet Fifteen)(well to me..). Awkward braces.” I wish he was my boooyfriennd, I wish he was my boyfriend.” Yes I do(not the guy in the video though..hehe).

                      Boyfriend-Best Coast

Leave a comment